Marian University men’s and women’s basketball will each be celebrating their 50th season during the 2021-22 season and Marian athletics will be highlighting both programs throughout the year.

Marian men’s and women’s basketball are the oldest programs in the Marian athletics lineup with the establishment of each program officially coming during the 1972-73 academic year.  Here are some quick facts about each program.

Marian Men’s Basketball

  • 11 Conference Championships with the first coming in 1978-79 and the latest in 2013-14
  • Five conference tournament championships leading to two NCAA Tournament berths (2001, 2014)
  • A total of 616 wins in program history including two wins so far this season
  • 13 coaches in program history
  • Mark Boyle winningest coach in history leading Marian to four conference championships and two NCAA Tournament berths (390 wins, 154-92 in LMC games)
  • 19 student-athletes with at least 1,000 career points
  • Seven Conference Player of the Year winners
  • Five student-athletes in Marian Athletics Hall of Fame and one coach in Dave Shaw ’15 (Casey Jackson ’12, Scott Jaeger ’13, Kyle Seyfert ’14, Darryl Loether ’17, Dave Beres ’19)

Marian Women’s Basketball 

  • Two conference championships (1977-78, 1980-81)
  • Three NACC Tournament berths (2011, 2012, 2014)
  • 18 seasons with a winning record including one undefeated season (1977-78: 13-0, WIC-WAC Championship)
  • A total of 328 wins in program history
  • 14 coaches in program history
  • 13 student-athletes with over 1,000 career points
  • One NAIA All-American (Tanya Leonard, Third Team, 1994-95)
  • Five student-athletes currently in Marian Athletics Hall of Fame, two of which inducted in inaugural class (Tanya Wiesner ’12, Kerri (Holz) Huebel ’12, Bobbi Jo Merten ’15, Lorianne Kennerson ’18, Kristin (Englebert) Heurkens ’21)