Sabres announce schedule with new NCHA style weekends

August 23, 2017

With the addition of Trine University to the NCHA, the Marian University men’s hockey program released the 2017-18 schedule with a new style to conference weekends.

“We are excited as a program for this season’s schedule,” commented head men’s hockey coach Zach Gaynor.  “We have a very balanced schedule of teams who will receive national attention this year.  We are very fortunate to have such a skilled and dynamic group of veterans, coupled with a new coaching staff and an eager group of talented freshmen should make for an exciting season.

The Sabres open the season at home welcoming the before mentioned Thunder to the NCHA Friday, Nov. 3 at 7 p.m. and close out the weekend against Adrian, who eliminated the Sabres from the NCHA Harris Cup playoffs last season, the following day at 4 p.m.

Marian then starts a four-game road stretch the next weekend against Lake Forest and Aurora.  The Sabres open their first stretch of non-conference games against a pair of WIAC opponents in UW-Stevens Point Friday, Nov. 17 and UW-Stout Saturday, Nov. 18.  MU returns home Thanksgiving weekend to take on a pair of MIAC teams in Saint John’s (Minn.) at 7 p.m. Friday, Nov. 24 and Bethel Saturday, Nov. 25 at noon before returning to NCHA play Friday, Dec. 1 against Finlandia at Blue Line with the puck dropping at 7 p.m.  Marian closes out the weekend against St. Norbert the following day at 7 p.m. before closing out the first half of the season against UW-Eau Claire Saturday, Dec. 9 at 8 p.m.

The Sabres open the second half on the road at the Yellow Jacket Holiday Tournament, hosted by UW-Superior, against MSOE Friday, Dec. 29 and will play either UW-Superior or Concordia Moorhead the following day in their final non-conference tilt.

Marian remains on the road for a four-game NCHA stretch opening with Concordia Wisconsin Friday, Jan. 5 at 7:30 p.m. and MSOE, for a second time to close out the season-series, Saturday, Jan. 6 at 4 p.m.  The Sabres will then close out the season-series with St. Norbert and Finlandia on the road before returning home to take on Lake Forest Friday, Jan. 19 at 8 p.m. and Aurora Saturday, Jan. 20 at 7 p.m.  MU gets their first look at Northland and St. Scholastica at home the following weekend, Jan. 26-27, before the Battle of Highway 41.  The Sabres hit the road to open the series Friday, Feb. 2 and will look to reclaim the traveling trophy Saturday, Feb. 3 at 8 p.m. from Blue Line.

The Sabres close out the regular season at St. Scholasatica Friday, Feb. 9 and at Northland Saturday, Feb. 10.

The full 2017-18 Marian men’s hockey schedule can be found at http://sabreathletics.com/sports/mice/2017-18/schedule.

–FightBlueFight–