NCHA releases all-academic teams

February 21, 2019

DULUTH, Minn. – The Northern Collegiate Hockey Association has announced the 2018-19 all-academic teams, which consists of nine members from the Marian University men’s hockey program and seven members from the Marian University women’s hockey program.

To earn a spot on the NCHA all-academic team a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.30, and hold at least a sophomore standing.  As a result of needing to be a sophomore, a student-athlete can be named an all-academic team member three times during their career.

The Sabre hockey programs combined for four student-athletes to be named to the all-academic team for the third time in James Mathias and Nick Monfils on the men’s team, and Jill Schneider and Lindsey Strainis on the women’s side.  Strainis and Schneider were two of only five women’s hockey players in the NCHA to earn the award for a third time this season.

Men’s All-NCHA Academic:

Mitchell Baumann – Junior (Second Time)
Kyle Carignan – Senior (Second Time)
Clay Cross – Junior (Second Time)
Chris Deprez – Junior (Second Time)
Lawson MacDonald – Junior (Second Time)
James Mathias – Senior (Third Time)
Nick Monfils – Senior (Third Time)
Lane Valimont – Senior (First Time)
Brock Weston – Junior (Second Time)

Women’s All-NCHA Academic:

Sheila Blower – Senior (Second Time)
Mary Clark – Sophomore (First Time)
Ally Fox – Junior (Second Time)
Hailey Miller – Senior (First Time)
Jill Schneider – Senior (Third Time)
Lindsey Strainis – Senior (Third Time)
Natalie West – Senior (First Time)

The full release and NCHA all-academic teams from the conference can be viewed at