DULUTH, Minn. – The NCHA has announced that 196 total student-athletes have been named all-academic including 37 of whom have earned their spot for the third time.

To earn a spot on the NCHA all-academic team a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.30, and hold at least a sophomore standing.  As a result of needing to be a sophomore, a typical student-athlete can be named an all-academic team member three times during their career.

The Sabre men’s hockey had 14 student-athletes qualify for the all-academic team with seniors Clay Cross, Chris Deprez, Lawson MacDonald, and Brock Weston earning their third selection.  The women had two student-athletes make the team highlighted by junior Mary Clark who was named to the team for the second time in her career.

The full release from the NCHA can be found at https://www.nchahockey.org/sports/mice/2019-20/articles/1920_NCHA_AA.


Men’s All-NCHA Academic    
Blaine Caton Sophomore First Time
Yuri Chernichko Sophomore First Time
Clay Cross Senior Third Time
Chris Deprez Senior Third Time
Tayor Derynck Sophomore First Time
Lawson MacDonald Senior Third Time
Anthony Orubor Junior First Time
Troy Ring Sophomore First Time
Davis Ross Senior First Time
Nolan Ross Senior First Time
Salvatore Scalise Sophomore First Time
Hunter Vorva Senior First Time
Nathan Walker Sophomore First Time
Brock Weston Senior Third Time
Women’s All-NCHA Academic    
Mary Clark Junior Second Time
Leah Roames Sophomore First Time