Marian University to host poetry reading, April 30

April 25, 2014

FOND DU LAC, Wis. – The Marian University English Department’s Writers Reading Series will celebrate National Poetry Month with an evening of Wisconsin poetry, featuring three award-winning poets on Wednesday, April 30, at 7:00 p.m. in the Stayer Center Auditorium.

This event will feature Jeanie Tomasko, Susan Elbe and Rebecca Dunham.

Jeanie Tomasko is the author of three chapbooks of poetry, including Tricks of Light, from the University of Wisconsin Libraries’ Parallel Press. She is the recipient of the 2014 Council of Wisconsin Writers’ Lorine Niedecker Poetry Award. Tomasko is, along with her husband, Steve Tomasko, the co-editor of the 2015 Wisconsin Fellowship of Poets’ Poetry Calendar. 

Susan Elbe is the author of two chapbooks and two full-length collections of poetry. Elbe’s second collection, The Map of What Happened, won the 2012 Backwaters Press Book Prize. Often anthologized, her work has won awards from Concrete Wolf Press, the Council of Wisconsin Writers and the Poetry Center of Chicago, as well as other organizations throughout the United States.

Rebecca Dunham is the author of three full-length collections of poetry and one limited edition chapbook. Her most recent book, 

Glass Armonica,

won the Lindquist & Vennum Prize and was published by Milkweed Press in 2013.  Her first book, 

The Miniature Room,

won the T.S. Eliot Prize in 2006.  She has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Wisconsin Institute of Creative Writing.

This event is free and open to the public.  Books will be available for purchase following the reading. For more information, contact John Walser, associate professor of English, at

or at (920) 923-7172.