Marian School of Business holds Award Ceremony

August 25, 2012

March 27, 2012FOND DU LAC, Wis. — The School of Business at Marian University recognized outstanding performances at its annual Awards Ceremony in the Stayer Center for Technology & Executive Learning on March 22, 2012.James “Jim” C. Hubbard, long-time Fond du Lac resident and retired vice president and chief of staff at Mercury Marine, was inducted as an honorary member of Sigma Beta Delta, the international honor society in business, management and administration. Hubbard has served on many boards and committees throughout the area including Conflict Resolution Center, Blandine House, Arts Council, Lutheran Home & Health Services Foundation, County Long Term Recovery Committee, Economic Development Corporation, Association of Commerce and the National Marine Manufacturers Association Board. He has assisted Marian in providing input in School of Business program reviews. Hubbard was recognized for his leadership in business and the community.Sigma Beta Delta was established to encourage and recognize scholarship and to promote personal and professional improvement and honorable service in business. Ryan Birenbaum, Johnathan Braker, Breana De Coursin, Shane Goggins, Greg Hardt, Susan Matz, Adam Mielke, Brandon Mueller, Matthew Pena, Charles Rechner, Karli Reiser, Tracy Scheier, Megan Stahmann, Christopher Thompson and Mark Wilant were inducted into Sigma Beta Delta this year. New business faculty member Gregory Canard was also inducted.The following students were recognized for outstanding achievement: School of Business Student of the Year, Jesse Blum; Accounting Student of the Year, Danielle Hull; Business Administration Student of the Year, Megan Stahmann; Economics/Finance Student of the Year, Emily Roeske; Health Care Administration Student of the Year, Karli Reiser; Information Technology Student of the Year, Blanca Lule; Management Student of the Year, Charles Rechner; Marketing Student of the Year, Luke Kaspar; Sport & Recreation Management Student of the Year, Matthew Pena; General Management Student of the Year (MAAP), Kathy Rankin; Marketing Student of the Year (MAAP), Aaron Habeck and Operations Management Student of the Year (MAAP), Michael Fenrick.The School of Business has four student-led and operated organizations that engage students in development of professional skills and knowledge outside the classroom. The following students were recognized for leadership of clubs and organizations this year with a Presidential gavel: Business Club President, Andrew Kaminski; Student Chapter – Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) President, Charles Rechner; Students in Free Enterprise (SIFE) President, Adam Miner and Sport & Recreation Management (SRM) Club President, Anelia Patterson.Marian students also competed in the Economics Wisconsin – Investment Portfolio Simulation. Teams of students from the FIN 400 Investments class with finance professor Katherine Schuessler were recognized for first place (Dmitry Sentsov and Yvonne Diekvoss) and third place (Karli Reiser and Jenna Whitehead).Each year, graduating students in business complete the Educational Testing Service (ETS) Major Field Test in Business, an assessment of general knowledge in all areas of business. Graduating seniors Dustin Andrus, Jamie Dudarenke, Nick Feavel, Corey Keen, Scott Koegler, Brad Snider and Peter Vollbrecht were recognized for finishing in the top 20 percent nationally on the ETS Major Field Test in Business in 2011.

James “Jim” C. Hubbard