Marian men’s tennis tabbed seventh in NACC preseason poll

January 24, 2017

TEN1WAUKESHA, Wis. – The Marian University men’s tennis team has been picked to finish seventh in the NACC preseason poll as voted on by the head coaches and sports information directors of the league.

Edgewood College has been tabbed to win the Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference men’s tennis championship after capturing their second consecutive NACC title last year with a perfect 8-0 record (15-11 overall).  The Eagles went on to again win the NACC Tournament to earn the program’s second trip to the NCAA Championship Tournament.

Edgewood received 12 of a possible 18 first-place votes for 154 total poll points.

Concordia University Wisconsin was second with 148 points and the remaining six top votes while Milwaukee School of Engineering was third with 128 points.

Wisconsin Lutheran College was picked fourth at 105, Aurora University fifth at 85 and Dominican University sixth at 78.

Marian University (49), Concordia University Chicago (43) and Lakeland University (20) rounded out the preseason poll.

The NACC’s regular season standings determine the teams that qualify for the six-team conference tournament, while the tournament champion receives the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA III Championship Tournament.

2017 NACC Preseason Poll
1. Edgewood (12), 154
2. Concordia Wisconsin (6), 148
3. MSOE, 128
4. Wisconsin Lutheran, 105
5. Aurora, 85
6. Dominican, 78
7. Marian, 49
8. Concordia Chicago, 43
9. Lakeland, 20

First-place votes in parentheses
Voted by the conference’s head coaches and sports information directors

9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 point scale used

Marian University was founded in 1936 by the Congregation of Sisters of St. Agnes in Fond du Lac, Wis. The institution has one of the lowest student-faculty ratios in the state and strives to live its core values as a community committed to learning, dedicated to service and social justice and joined together by spiritual traditions. Marian offers undergraduate, adult, master’s and doctoral degree programs at its main campus and in facilities throughout Wisconsin.