Marian hockey leads NCHA in All-Academic honorees

March 20, 2017

WAUKESHA, Wis. – Marian hockey led the way in the NCHA with a total of 26 Sabre hockey members being named All-Academic announced the NCHA league office.

On the men’s side, Marian led the NCHA with 16 members making the All-Academic with nine Sabres earning the honor for the first time in their respective careers.

Mike Baldwin Senior Third Time
Thomas Fazio Sophomore First Time
Mike Gudmandson Junior Second Time
Jake Howie Sophomore First Time
Brodie Jamieson Senior Third Time
Curtis Lewington Junior Second Time
Gianni Mangone Sophomore First Time
James Mathias Sophomore First Time
Cole McCaig Junior Second Time
Scott Milnthorp Senior Third Time
Nick Monfils Sophomore Second Time
Derek Perl Senior First Time
Jacob Ryd Senior First Time
Hunter Stewart Junior First Time
Derek Thorogood Junior First Time
Mike Zajac Senior First Time

For the women, Marian had the second highest amount of student-athletes named to the All-Academic team with 10.  A total of four Sabres were recognized as All-Academic for the first time.

Sheila Blower Sophomore First Time
Ellie Deans Junior Second Time
Maddy Dixon Senior Third Time
Rian Lennon Senior Third Time
Jess Meluch Senior Third Time
Nicole Niemi Sophomore First Time
Paige Picard Senior Third Time
Jill Schneider Freshman First Time
Amanda Siiro Senior Third Time
Lindsey Strainis Sophomore First Time

The full release from the NCHA can be viewed at