Inaugural Marian men’s lacrosse schedule announced

August 30, 2017

The inaugural Marian University men’s lacrosse schedule has been announced with seven games to be played at home.

“As a staff, we could not be more excited to finalize our inaugural schedule,” commented head coach Reid Mayberry.  “The energy in the office and on campus is something I have never seen before.  Competing in the Midwest Lacrosse Conference along with playing other top teams in the Midwest is a challenge our program looks forward to this spring.”

The Sabres open the inaugural season playing three games in a six-day stretch down south opening in Conway, Ark. against Hendrix College Thursday, Feb. 15.  Then Sunday, Feb. 18 Marian travels to the state of Texas to take on Dallas and conclude against Southwestern (Texas) Tuesday, Feb. 20.  MU returns closer to home for their next two road games playing North Central (Minn.) Saturday, Feb. 24 and Dubuque Wednesday, Feb. 28.

Marian makes their home debut a little over a week later to open the month of March taking on Calvin Thursday, March 8.  The next week Marian takes another road trip to play Carroll Wednesday, March 14 and Monmouth Saturday, March 17.  MU returns home Wednesday, March 21 against Cornell before their final multi-game road stretch of the season.  That final road stretch opens against Northwestern (Minn.) and Benedictine.

MU then welcomes Concordia Chicago Saturday, March 31 to close out the month before opening April on the road at Aurora.  The Sabres open the final stretch of the season following the matchup against the Spartans where MU will play four of the final five games at home.  Concordia Wisconsin will be the first home opponent Wednesday, April 11 before the final road game of the season at Northland Saturday, April 14.

The final three-game homestand of the season opens against Fontbonne Saturday, April 21 before Marian takes on Beloit Wednesday, April 25 and MSOE Saturday, April 28 in the final week of the season.

The full inaugural men’s lacrosse schedule can be found at http://sabreathletics.com/sports/mlax/2017-18/schedule. Dates and times are subject to change.

–FightBlueFight–